Oregon Required Certifications

student working in class

Oregon requires individuals to have a CFC certificate to purchase, use, store and properly dispose of refrigerant as part of the clean air act and a Brazing certificate to work with commercial refrigerant.

CFC Certification

PCC does not provide the exam or certify individuals, but most of the supply houses do. The information provided is for your convenience and includes a partial list of testing sites available in the local area.

What is the clean air act?
Section 608 of the Federal Clean Air Act requires that all persons who maintain, service, repair, or dispose of appliances that contain regulated refrigerants be certified on proper refrigerant handling techniques as of November 14, 1994.
What is the cost?
It is our understanding that there is a charge for the manual (approximately $13.00) as well as a test charge (approximately $60.00). Note: Cost varies between the various locations.

Where can I get certified?

Location Contact

O.R.A.C.C.A.
Vancouver, WA

Susan Stillwill: 360-834-3805

PermaCold
3005 NE Argyle, Portland, OR

Tom Kunis: 503-249-8190

R.S.D.
740 S.E. Oak St, Portland, OR

Yvonne Loos: 503-234-4334

D.P.G., Inc.
Clackamas, OR

Dale Garcia: 503-464-7708

R.S.E.S.
Portland, OR

Leo Mihm: 503-242-1929

ESCO Institute

1-800-726-9696

Johnstone Supply

503-598-7800

Brazing Certification

Oregon requires individuals to have a Brazing certificate to work with commercial refrigerant. (Oregon Administrative Rule 918-440-0015)

PCC does not provide the exam or certify individuals. The site provided is for your convenience.

What is the cost?
Please see the Education and Training on the O.R.A.C.C.A. website. PCC students get member pricing.
Where can I get certified?

O.R.A.C.C.A.
Vancouver, WA
Contact: Susan Stillwell
360-834-3805