Portland Community College | Portland, Oregon Portland Community College

Office of the CIO

The office of the CIO incorporates business and support services for the IT department. IT Administrative Support staff coordinate these activities and provide logistical support to all of IT.

Focus on results

In January 2020 we ran our fourth peer-compared IT Customer Satisfaction Survey. This year shows continued increases in satisfaction numbers, similar to the one in 2018.

There was a good response in both the number of respondents and verbatim comments – (536 responses, 150 comments). Our vendor, InfoTech, confirmed that the results are statistically significant.

Continued improvement in customer satisfaction was seen over the past 4 surveys, across all categories:

  • Enabling PCC’s goals up 13% (65% → 74% → 78% → 78%)
  • Services offered up 12% (67% → 74% → 79% → 80%)
  • Communication up 9%   (67% → 74% → 78% → 79%)
  • Application suite up 4%   (70% → 74% → 79% → 80%)

In addition, our “Net Promoter Score” (the key metric used by marketers to measure customer satisfaction) was up 3.75% year-over-year.

From a benchmark perspective, we continue to score higher than other higher-ed institutions in their population.

IT Customer Satisfaction Survey Results 2020

Special thanks to Matt Brehm for managing this important process – coordinating the logistics and analyzing and presenting the results.

Communication from the CIO
Portfolio Management Office

CIO and IT Divisions

Michael Northover, Chief Information Officer (CIO)
Phone: 971-722-8508
Email: michael.northover@pcc.edu[opens in new window]
+Tracy Walstead, Executive Assistant
+Phone: 971-722-8507
+Email: tracy.walstead@pcc.edu[opens in new window]

Terry Jolley, Director, Client Services
Phone: 971-722-8510
Email: terry.jolley@pcc.edu[opens in new window]

Greg Pitter, Director, Application Services
Phone: 971-722-8500
Email: greg.pitter@pcc.edu[opens in new window]

Troy Berreth, Director, Infrastructure Services 
Phone: 971-722-8444
Email: troy.berreth@pcc.edu

Reet Kaur, CISO
Phone: 971-722-4996
Email: reet.kaur@pcc.edu

Joseph Cheng, Manager, Enterprise Architecture
Phone: 971-722-4165
Email: jcheng@pcc.edu

Kathleen Freitag, Manager, IT Portfolio and Purchasing
Phone: 971-722-8732
Email: kathleen.freitag@pcc.edu

IT Staff Directory:  Phone, email, and location information for employees of IT. See also: College-wide Tech staff.

IT Organization Chart