Portland Community College | Portland, Oregon Portland Community College

This content was published: February 15, 2016. Phone numbers, email addresses, and other information may have changed.

Cleaning content duplicates in your D2L course

Posted by

Last week while working on the Faculty Help Desk, I had few phone calls from PCC instructors that had a similar nature. These folks made duplicates while copying course content from an old shell to a new one and asked for help with cleaning up. If you run into this situation and have multiple copies of the content in your course, the most straightforward solution is to delete everything in this shell and copy the content from the previous shell one more time.

While there is no  simple “clear everything” button in D2L, the procedure of cleaning is fairly simple and will take you just a few minutes to do.

Delete News Items DeletingNewsItems

Choose Go to News Tool in the News widget on your course  Homepage.  Select all your news items and click Delete.

 

Delete Course Files

Go to Edit Course and then to Manage Files area. Select all the files and click Delete button.Go to Edit Course and then to Manage Files area. Select all the files and click Delete button.

 

Delete Content Items

Find a drop-down action menu on the right from Table of the Content and choose DeleteGo to Content from Navigation Bar. Find a drop-down action menu on the right from Table of the Content and choose Delete

 

Delete Dropbox Folders

Select all the Dropbox folders and choose Delete under More Actions drop-down menu.From navigation bar go to Dropbox area. Select all the Dropbox folders and choose Delete under More Actions drop-down menu.

 

Delete Discussions

Choose Delete and More Actions drop-down menu.Go to Discussions list from the Navigation Bar. Choose Delete and More Actions drop-down menu. Select all on the next screen and choose Delete at the bottom of the screen.

 

Delete Quizzes and questions in Question LibraryDeletingQuizes

Go to list of Quizzes from Navigation Bar. Select all quizzes and choose Delete under More Actions action menu.

Go to Question Library tab. Select all the questions and use Delete button. This item is the most often missed!

 

Delete Grade Items

Select all items on the next screen and use Delete button on the bottom.Go to Grades from the Navigation Bar and choose Manage Grades tab. Choose Delete option under More Actions drop-down menu. Select all items on the next screen and use Delete button on the bottom.

 

That’s all.  You should have an empty shell now  and only one area should stay untouched is your Classlist. It should still have all you students listed.

Now you can go back to Export/Import/Copy Components and make a content transfer one more time.

Poppe with speech bubble

Comments

Sorry, but the comments have been closed. If you see something that doesn't belong, please click the x and report it.

x (Comment #20442) by Donna Swanson 6 years ago (Comment #20442)

You’ll want to delete any: (if you have them)
Custom Homepages
Custom NavBars
Custom Widgets

x (Comment #20445) by Rondi Schei 6 years ago (Comment #20445)

Such a handy quick guide! Thanks Andre!

If you have any of these more uncommon elements in your course, you will need to delete them too:
Rubrics
Surveys
Self-Assessments