Portland Community College | Portland, Oregon

Clubs at PCC Why Join a Club? How to Create a Club Club Events

Sylvania Clubs List

Check out all of the clubs Sylvania has to offer for the 2015-2016 school year.

Download/ View Printer Friendly Version

+ STEAM

Purpose: Continually challenge and inspire Science, Technology, Engineering, Art and Mathematics +Business Students to experiment, engage and explore creation through technology as well as provide a support network to assist each other for academic success (and have good geeky fun)

Contacts:

James Ritchie             james.ritchie15@pcc.edu

Eric Fuller                  eric.fuller1@pcc.edu

Meetings: Mondays

2017 Rad Techs

Contacts:

Michael Simpson       michael.simpson2@pcc.edu

Erin Rippee                erin.rippee@pcc.edu

Meetings:

911 Studies

Purpose:  In depth academic examination of the events of 9/11/2001.

Contacts:

Thomas Hermach      911studies.sy@pcc.edu       

Brenda Russell                      Brenda.russell1@pcc.edua

Meetings:

Ageless Network

Purpose: To expose students to a wide variety of businesses and organizations involved in the Gerontology industry. To give students an opportunity to network, open up new possibilities for students to pursue, and have an opportunity to connect with fellow students in a casual atmosphere.

Contacts:

Philip Haines             Philip.haines15@pcc.edu

Trace Rew                  trace.rew@pcc.edu

Meetings:

Clay Club

Purpose: Raise money for charity, clay supplies, and ceramic related projects.

Contacts:

Jaime Johnson           Jaime.johnson3@pcc.edu

Kelsie Anderson        Kelsie.anderson1@pcc.edu

Meetings:

ESOL

Purpose:          To create an opportunity for ESOL students to make connections and to get involved outside of class, which will help them to succeed towards their goals.

Contacts:

Marcela Castaneda   marcela.castellanoscastaneda@pcc.edu

Mary Naaniumotu     mary.naaniumotu@pcc.edu

Meetings:

FMLA (Feminist Majority Leadership Alliance)

Purpose:          To provide a comfortable, encouraging and safe environment where everyone can be open to discuss gender issues and how gender and social standards shape their personalities. Also help students get hands-on experience with many volunteer opportunities at the Women’s Resource Center at Sylvania.

Contacts:

Bronte Brecht                                    bronte.brecht@pcc.edu

Anastasia Luna                      Anastasia.luna@pcc.edu      

Meetings:

GIS (Geological Information System Club)

Purpose:          Enhance technical and GIS software skills through real-world projects and skill sharing. Deepen relationships within the PCC GIS community, as well as provide network opportunities with GIS professionals. Provide services to the community for any mapping needs.

Contacts:

Whitman Bouton       Whitman.bouton@pcc.edu

Daniel Schick             Daniel.schick@pcc.edu

Meetings:

HTMPIT (Health Technology Management Professionals in Training)

Purpose:          To supplement the education of PCC students seeking to enter the Health Technology management Industry, in partnership with the Oregon Biomedical Association. HTMPIT will provide educational sessions on topics not included in official classes, facilitate group study activities for professional certifications, and facilitate networking opportunities with current industry professionals.

Contacts:

J Patrick Lashway      Patrick.lashway@pcc.edu

Richard Swallen        Richard.swallen@pcc.edu

Meetings:

IIWC (International and Immigrant Women’s Club)

Purpose:          To support international and immigrant women students. We support academic and social needs of international women students, such as helping them succeed in college and living better life in the United States.

Contacts:

Maria Lazareva              maria.lazareva@pcc.edu

Tatiana Karpova            Tatiana.karpova@pcc.edu

Meetings:

MAVEN (Men’s Anti Violence Education Network)

Purpose:  To provide a space where members – especially men and masculine identified individuals – can explore issues around masculinities healthy and otherwise, the man box, sexual violence, domestic violence and the precursor signs and behaviors.  To provide our members with tools to use in their own lives, and to share with others outside of the network. These tools promote the ideals of healthy masculinities, and bystander interventions in the precursor behaviors of sexual violence and domestic violence.

Contacts:

Gary Fresquez                       gary.fresquez@pcc.edu

Kole Render               kole.render@pcc.edu

Meetings:

OTAKU (Otaku Anime and Video gamer club)

Purpose:   Watch Anime every Friday. Spread the Otaku culture around to its members and create a place where it can flourish.

Contacts:

Amber Alberto           amber.alberto@pcc.edu

Nicole Lebrun                        Nicole.lebrun@pcc.edu

Meetings:

Q-CLUB

Purpose:   A coalition encouraging political activism for and awareness of queer rights. In addition, advocating for a welcoming, safe and positive space for social, political and educational interests of lesbian, gay, bi, transgender and otherwise queer PCC students and their allies. Primary Responsibility: To keep Q-Club a safe place, allowing for all LGBTQ students and allies to come and be themselves.

Contacts:

Miranda Streeter      Miranda.streeter1@pcc.edu

Kole Render               kole.render@pcc.edu

Meetings:

RPG (Role Playing Games Club)

Purpose:          To create a coordinated group in PCC dedicated to finding potential players and Game Masters playing Tabletop RPGs.

Contacts:

Cassidy J. Moon         cassidy.moon@pcc.edu

Meetings:

RUSSIAN

Purpose:          To provide Russian language students or students simply interested in Russia or Russian an opportunity to practice speaking Russian, explore and learn about Russian culture, watch Russian films, attend area events that focus on Russian language and culture.

Contacts:

Jim Vaughn                            jim.vaughn@pcc.edu

Sean Desautels                      sean.desautels@pcc.edu

Meetings:

SKELFIE (Formerly Skeleton Crew)

Purpose:          To organize funds and help support the Radiography Club class of 2016.

Contacts:

Jackie Finck                Jackie.finck@pcc.edu

Ben Willis                   ben.willis@pcc.edu

Meetings:

Student Nursing Association

Purpose: To assume responsibility for contributing to nursing education in order to provide for the highest quality of health care, to provide programs representative of fundamental interests and concerns to nursing students, to aid in the development of the whole person, including his/her professional role, his/her responsibility for health care of people in all walks of life.

Contacts:

Kate Lenahan             kate.lenahan@pcc.edu

Sheryl Willis               sheryl.willis@pcc.edu

SPN (Student Parent Network)

Purpose:          To provide Student Parents an organization they can be a part of. In addition to creating a support system for students on campus.

Contacts:

Jessica Banuelos        Jessica.banuelos@pcc.edu

Max Santiago             max.santiago@pcc.edu

Meetings:

STUDENTS FOR LIFE

Purpose:          Pro life club

Contacts:

Caleb Knezevich        caleb.knezevich@pcc.edu

Elinore Hardy                        elinore.hardy@pcc.edu

Meetings:

WIM (Swimming Club)

Purpose: To encourage students, faculty, and staff to improve and to enjoy their ability to swim.

Contacts:

Charles B Dwight      Charles.dwight@pcc.edu

______________________________________________________________________________

Sylvania Volleyball Club

Purpose: To bring together anyone interested in playing volleyball, to encourage intramural events for volleyball players, to support those interested in learning volleyball, and to promote student involvement in activities supporting volleyball in the community.

Contacts:

Tim Covert tim.covert@pcc.edu

Meetings:

______________________________________________________________________________

TAEKWONDO

Purpose:          To promote the teachings of the tenets of Tae Kwon Do: Courtesy, Integrity, Perseverance, Self-Control, and Indomitable Spirit.  Help fellow students of Taekwondo that want to get more practice in after classes, help fellow students of PCC to come and have fun and see what TKD is all about. Help fellow students to prepare for rank advancement and tournaments.

Contacts:

Anna Hammerberg   anna.hammerberg@pcc.edu

Jessica Ly                    Jessica.ly1@pcc.edu

Meetings:

TRANSITIONS

Purpose:          To provide support, community building and fun activities for current Transitions students and Alumni. The goal is to create an environment that will help cultivate the friendships created while in Transitions, and to continue creating new friendships and connections in the future. By working together we will build a network that supports our academic success, future goals, and fills our college experience with memorable moments.

Contacts:

Lorena Rousseau       lorena.rousseau@pcc.edu

Caroline Perez                       caroline.perez@pcc.edu      

Meetings:

VETERANS

Purpose:          To enhance the educational experience of the military veteran community on the PCC Sylvania Campus by advocating for improved services for student veterans and by providing a social and support network to currently enrolled veterans.

Contacts:

Cheryl Hoskinson      Cheryl.hoskinson@pcc.edu

Heidi Smith                Heidi.smith3@pcc.edu         

Meetings:

VISION (Formerly THE WAY)

Purpose:          To provide students with a small group setting that is a safe place to discuss relevant topics from the Bible in an informal setting for people of all kinds of backgrounds whether Christian or not.

Contacts:

Monique Villa                        Monique.villa@pcc.edu

Jessica Zamora           Jessica.zamora@pcc.edu

Meetings:

VSA (Vietnamese Student Association)

Purpose:          To bring the Vietnamese Root Culture to everyone all over the world, raise awareness of people about Vietnamese culture, build a community not only specifically for the Vietnamese students but also target all students who want to know more about Vietnam. Create connections between students in the community, and through this connection, we can encourage and support other students along with their education.

Contacts:

Nghia Huynh             nghia.huynh1@pcc.edu

Kieu Le                                   kieu.le@pcc.edu

______________________________________________________________________________

WRITING (Formerly In Your Own Words)

Purpose:          To help people better express themselves in their writing. We also hope to provide a positive environment for people who need extra writing help.

Contacts:

Jack Cornelius                                    jack.cornelius@pcc.edu

Amber Hanson                      amber.hanson@pcc.edu

Meetings:

Have a question or concern? Contact us!
clubs.sy@pcc.edu
971-722-4943
CC 102, Sylvania Campus