When to register for classes

students talking at computer

For most students, registration begins about 5 or 6 weeks before the beginning of the term and ends the day before the first day of the class. PCC uses a priority registration system: the more credits you've earned, the earlier you can register. This is to help students graduate on time by giving them the opportunity to enroll in required classes that fill up quickly.

How priority registration works

  • Earlier registration times are offered to students who were enrolled in credit classes the previous term. The exception is fall term: for earlier fall registration times, you must have been enrolled the previous spring.
  • Priority registration is based on the number of credits earned at PCC. Credits in progress and transfer credits are not included.
  • Earlier registration times are offered to students who have declared a degree. See how to declare a degree.

Registration groups and dates

About two weeks before registration begins, you'll receive your priority registration group and date in your PCC email. You can also see your registration dates by clicking Check Registration Status, Holds and Overrides on the MyPCC Home tab.

Winter 2014

Registration group Registration begins on...
Group 1 more than 80 credits Tuesday, November 12, 7am
Group 2 56 to 80 credits Tuesday, November 12, 11am
Group 3 41 to 55 credits
Tuesday, November 12, 2pm
Group 4 26 - 40 credits Wednesday, November 13, 7am
Group 5 16 - 25 credits Wednesday, November 13, 11am
Group 6 11 - 15 credits Wednesday, November 13, 2pm
Group 7 6 - 10 credits Thursday, November 14, 7am
Group 8 0 - 5 credits Thursday, November 14, 11am
Group 9 not enrolled in previous term Friday, November 15, 7am
Group 10 undeclared degree Tuesday, November 19, 7am
Group 11 non-credit students Wednesday, November 20, 7am
Group 12 students age 15 and under Monday, December 30, 7am

Spring 2014

Registration group Registration begins on...
Group 1 more than 80 credits Tuesday, February 25, 7am
Group 2 56 to 80 credits Tuesday, February 25, 11am
Group 3 41 to 55 credits
Tuesday, February 25, 2pm
Group 4 26 - 40 credits Wednesday, February 26, 7am
Group 5 16 - 25 credits Wednesday, February 26, 11am
Group 6 11 - 15 credits Wednesday, February 26, 2pm
Group 7 6 - 10 credits Thursday, February 27, 7am
Group 8 0 - 5 credits Thursday, February 27, 11am
Group 9 not enrolled in previous term Friday, February 28, 7am
Group 10 undeclared degree Tuesday, March 4, 7am
Group 11 non-credit students Wednesday, March 5, 7am
Group 12 students age 15 and under Monday, March 24, 7am

Summer 2014

Registration group Registration begins on...
Group 1 more than 80 credits Tuesday, May 20, 7am
Group 2 56 to 80 credits Tuesday, May 20, 11am
Group 3 41 to 55 credits
Tuesday, May 20, 2pm
Group 4 26 - 40 credits Wednesday, May 21, 7am
Group 5 16 - 25 credits Wednesday, May 21, 11am
Group 6 11 - 15 credits Wednesday, May 21, 2pm
Group 7 6 - 10 credits Thursday, May 22, 7am
Group 8 0 - 5 credits Thursday, May 22, 11am
Group 9 not enrolled in previous term Friday, May 23, 7am
Group 10 undeclared degree Tuesday, May 27, 7am
Group 11 non-credit students Wednesday, May 28, 7am
Group 12 students age 15 and under Monday, June 16, 7am

Fall 2014

Registration group Registration begins on...
Group 1 more than 80 credits Tuesday, August 5, 7am
Group 2 56 to 80 credits Tuesday, August 5, 11am
Group 3 41 to 55 credits
Tuesday, August 5, 2pm
Group 4 26 - 40 credits Wednesday, August 6, 7am
Group 5 16 - 25 credits Wednesday, August 6, 11am
Group 6 11 - 15 credits Wednesday, August 6, 2pm
Group 7 6 - 10 credits Thursday, August 7, 7am
Group 8 0 - 5 credits Thursday, August 7, 11am
Group 9 not enrolled in previous term Friday, August 8, 7am
Group 10 undeclared degree Tuesday, August 12, 7am
Group 11 non-credit students Wednesday, August 13, 7am
Group 12 students age 15 and under Friday, September 12, 7am

Registering after classes start

If you want to register on or after the first day of class, you must ask your instructor for permission and then register before the late registration deadline.

How to request permission for late registration

  1. Ask your instructor if there is availability in the class. If they agree, have your instructor complete an online registration override in MyPCC using your G number.
  2. Once the instructor has completed the override, you will receive an email letting you know that you can register for the class. You can view your overrides by clicking Check Registration Status, Holds and Overrides on the MyPCC Home tab. 
  3. Register for the class in MyPCC by the late registration deadline. The override does not register for the class. Keep in mind that the late registration deadline is after the drop deadline, so be sure you really want this class, because you won't be able to drop it.

Late registration deadline

The late registration deadline is two days after the drop deadline for your class. For 8-12 week classes, this is the second Tuesday of the term. Short-term classes have earlier drop and late registration deadlines. You cannot register for a class after the deadline.