Portland Community College | Portland, Oregon

2015-2016 Productions

  • Fall: Usagi Yojimbo (The American Premiere)
  • Winter: Tales of the Arabian Nights (Part 1)
  • Spring: Tales of the Arabian Nights (Part 2)

Fall 2015: Usagi Yojimbo (The American Premiere)

Usagi Yojimbo poster

by Stan Sakai, Adapted by Stewart Melton

For over 30 years Stan Sakai's Usagi Yojimbo has been loved by comic book readers across the globe. Now, in its American premiere, this play follows Usagi (A rabbit) as he seeks his own true path to become Yojimbo (Samurai). In 16th century Japan, feudal lords fight for power and create chaos for the masses. Usagi, with friends Mariko and Kenichi wish to bring glory to themselves and harmony to their family and friends by seeking the ways of the great teachers. But to do so, Usagi struggles to leave his mother, Atsuko, and even his friendships behind if he is to travel the path of the warrior. Risking it all, Usagi pursues his destiny, but will he also meet his match?

Appropriate for ages 7 and up, and sure to delight all ages. Mild violence. PG.
Based on the life and writings of Miyamoto Musashi.

Performances:
  • Friday November 6 , 7pm Curtain OPENING NIGHT EVENT!
  • Saturday November 7, 2pm Matinee!
  • Thursday November 12, 11am Matinee!
  • Friday November 13, 7 pm Curtain.
  • Saturday November 14, 7pm Curtain. Sign Language Interpretation!
  • Sunday November 15, 2 pm Matinee!

Tales of the Arabian Nights (Part 1)

Tales of AribianNights poster

by Mary Zimmerman

  • Designed by Sarah Gahagan, Jamie Tait and Dan Hays
  • Directed by Theatre Program Chair, Patrick Tangredi

Performances

  • Friday March 4, 7pm – OPENING NIGHT
  • Saturday March 5, 7pm
  • Thursday March 10, 11am – Matinee
  • Friday March 11, 7pm
  • Saturday March 12, 7pm – Sign Language Interpretation
  • Sunday March 13, 2pm – Matinee

Tales of the Arabian Nights (Part 2)

Actors in Arabian Nights Actors in Arabian Nights Actors in Arabian Nights

by Mary Zimmerman

  • Designed by Sarah Gahagan, Jamie Tait and Dan Hays
  • Directed by Jessica Wallenfels

Performances

  • Friday May 6, 7pm – OPENING NIGHT
  • Saturday May 7, 7pm
  • Thursday May 12, 11am – Matinee
  • Friday May 13, 7pm
  • Saturday May 14, 7pm – Sign Language Interpretation
  • Sunday May 15, 2pm – Matinee