Portland has long been known as a clean, green and friendly city. It has an easy-to-use public transit system, which every year transports millions of visitors and residents through the city and its surrounding neighborhoods. On the TriMet bus system, which covers the city and its suburbs thoroughly, you'll find low fares, friendly drivers and full wheelchair accessibility. And since most buses are now equipped with bike racks, mass transit has become more user-friendly for the cycling set.
TriMet's 38-mile MAX light rail system offers a 10-minute ride from downtown to Washington Park station, the deepest underground transit station in North America. It’s also the quickest way to get from downtown to PCC Rock Creek campus.
A new streetcar system links Portland's downtown cultural district, the Pearl District, Portland State University and the Northwest/Nob Hill Neighborhood. The sleek euro-designed streetcars follow a 4.8 mile loop route through downtown Portland, the art gallery-filled Pearl District, and Nob Hill, known for its outstanding restaurants and hip, upscale shopping.
For additional information, please visit the TriMet website.
PCC Shuttle Van
PCC offers a free shuttle van service, which runs between 6am and 9:30pm. Vans travel to each of the campuses and training centers on almost an hourly basis. Capacity is limited on shuttles and bicycle racks and wheelchair lifts are available (call ahead to ensure this service).
If you plan to drive a car in the United States, be sure you have a valid driver license. An international license is valid for six months as long as you are not a resident of the United States. If you have a license from your home country, you have to obtain an Oregon driver's license within 30 days.
You may obtain an Oregon state driver's license at one of the local DMV offices. Remember to find out if you have to take a driving test and/or a multiple-choice test about Oregon state driving rules and regulations.
How to obtain your license
The Department of Motor Vehicles requires that you provide the following to obtain a driver's license and/or an Oregon ID :
- I-94 (white departure card)
- International or previous driver's license
- Student ID card
- One credit card in your name
- Proof of address (rental receipt, post-marked mail etc.)
Please visit the DMV office that is located nearest you.
To pass the written test, study the Oregon driver’s license manual prepared by the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles. The manual is free and can be obtained at all DMV offices. The test consists of multiple choice questions that are based on the Oregon driver’s manual.
After you have passed the written test you will be given your Learner’s Permit. The Learner’s Permit allows you to practice driving with a licensed driver 21 years of age or older.
If you have never driven a car before, a driving course would be helpful. Look in the phone book yellow pages under 'drive' for a list of driving schools. If you have an International Driver’s license, you will take the written test but do not need a learner’s permit. Be sure to practice driving and familiarize yourself with the city streets, speed limits and signs in residential areas and downtown. When you are ready to take the driving test, make an appointment with the Drivers License Examining office. No driving tests are schedules after 4 pm.
If you have further questions, go to Oregon DMV website or call (503) 299-9999
Every driver in Oregon is required by law to carry current automobile insurance. This Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles site will give you more information.
When you purchase your car insurance you will be issued a proof of insurance card. Keep your proof of insurance card in your car. If stopped by police, you will be asked to show your driver's license, insurance card and the automobile registration. There is a fine for not having these three items in your car.
A new or used car, purchased in Oregon must be registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles. Call or go to the nearest Department of Motor Vehicles office to learn what you need to register your vehicles. Be prepared to pay a $30.00 registration fee and also a $21.00 Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) fee. Every two years as long as you own the car, you must renew the registration. You will receive a notice in the mail when it is time to renew your car’s registration. You must visit both the DMV and DEQ for your registration to be completed.
For more DEQ information please call 503-229-6234.