Restricting access to discussion and/or dropbox by group

Contact Distance Education Faculty Help Desk

Restricting access to discussions and/or dropboxes means that students will only see the group they are enrolled in when they are in these areas. This reduces confusion for your students, who will only see the activities in which they should participate.

  • Who is this for: Online Instructors
  • What is required: A Desire2Learn course and group-based activities

Step 1: Restricting access to a Dropbox by group

  1. Begin by clicking Dropbox on the navigation bar.
  2. Click the Action Menu icon by a group dropbox and select edit.
  3. Click the Restrictions tab.
  4. Under special access, select Allow only users with special access to see this folder.
  5. Click the Add Users to Special Access button.
  6. Under Users, View By, select Groups.
  7. Select the group you want to restrict to from the drop down menu.
  8. Click the Apply button.
  9. Check the check box by each name.
  10. Click the Save button.
  11. Repeat for all dropboxes.

Step 2: Restricting access to a discussion topic by group

  1. Begin by clicking Discussions on the navigation bar.
  2. Click the action menu icon by a group discussion and select edit topic.
  3. Click the Restrictions tab.
  4. Under Group Restrictions, check the box for Restrict this topic to the following groups.
  5. Click the Add Groups button.
  6. Under Users, View By, select Groups.
  7. Check the box for the group you want to restrict to.
  8. Click the Add button.
  9. Check the check box by each name.
  10. Click the Save button.
  11. Repeat for all discussions.