Portland Community College | Portland, Oregon

Adding Online Rooms

Online Rooms is an online collaboration platform which you set up inside D2L Brightspace, providing web conferencing, mobile collaboration, instant messaging, and voice. To set up a online office hour, file sharing and students’ collaboration.

  • Who is this for: Online Instructors
  • What is required: A D2L Brightspace course

Step 1

Option 1: Adding as a link in the Content area
  1. Login to D2L at http://online.pcc.edu
  2. Click on your course and go to Content.
  3. Select the module you want to add the room
  4. Click the Add Existing Activities button and select External Learning Tools
  5. In the Add Activity window, click Collaborate Ultra
  6. Click on Collaborate Ultra link to start creating the room.
Option 2: Adding the Online Rooms link to the navigation bar
Scenario 1: If you are using the PCC Default Navbar
  1. Click Edit Course from the navigation bar.
  2. Click on Navigation & Themes.
  3. Below Active Navbar, select “PCC Default Navbar + Online Rooms” from the drop-down menu and click the Apply button.
  4. You should now see Online Rooms on the navigation bar.
Scenario 2: If you are using your own custom Navbar
  1. Click on the Edit Course link from the navigation bar.
  2. Click on Navigation & Themes.
  3. Find the name of the custom navigation bar that you used, which has the active status next to it.
  4. Click the name of your custom navigation bar from the list.
  5. Click the Add Links button.
  6. From the Add Links window, check the box for Online Rooms and click the Add button. You should now see Online Rooms on the navigation bar. You can drag the link to move and arrange it in a different location of the navigation bar.
  7. Click the Save and Close button.

Step 2: Creating an Online Room

Follow these directions to create a room.

Step 3: Accessing your recording and post the link

Follow these directions to access your recording and download the file.

Note: Make sure everyone has exited the room completely by closing the Collaborate window, before the archive recording link become available. Archive recording may take a while to process, depending on the duration of the recording.

Tutorials and technical support